The First Congregational Church of Ionia was organized on October 30, 1842. By year’s end the new church had 17 members. In 1856 the Rev. R.M. Landis became pastor. Soon thereafter, a house of worship was built. The building was dedicated on August 12, 1857. That summer, the congregation adopted the Presbyterian form of government. On June 28, 1908 fire destroyed the church building. As a result of much prayer, faith and hard work, a new building was completed and dedicated on March 13, 1910. A new Sunday school and office addition was built in 1969. In 1992-93 the sanctuary and Memorial Room were renovated. An elevator, new bathrooms and heating and air conditioning system were installed. Our building is now barrier free.
In 1997 First Presbyterian Church passed the 155 year mark as a committed body of believers faithfully witnessing to god’s mighty acts and participating in the mission of God. As the congregation moves into the 21st century, we hope to experience a deeper understanding of our Presbyterian Christian heritage and a strengthening of our faith in God.